Ramsar Wetlands of NSW

Ramsar Wetlands of New South Wales, 2012. The Ramsar Convention is an inter-governmental treaty that embodies the commitments of its member countries to maintain the ecological character of their Wetlands of International Importance. The Office of Environment and Heritage, NSW is responsible for managing the majority of Ramsar wetlands in NSW, including: Blue Lake (in Kosciuszko NP), Gwydir Wetlands (part only - Gwydir Wetlands SCA), Hunter Estuary Wetlands (Kooragang component), Lake Pinaroo (in Sturt NP), Little Llangothlin NR, Macquarie Marshes (Macquarie Marshes NR component), Myall Lakes, Narran Lakes, NSW Central Murray State Forests (Millewa Forests and Werai Forests components), Paroo River Wetlands, and Towra Point NR. Ramsar Wetlands on other tenures include Fivebough and Tuckerbil Swamps (Crown land), Gwydir Wetlands (freehold land - Crinolyn, Windella and Godddard's Lease components), Hunter Estuary Wetlands (Hunter Wetlands Centre Australia component), Macquarie Marshes (Wilgara and U-block components), and NSW Central Murray State Forests (Koondrook Forests component).

Data and Resources

Metadata Summary What is metadata?

Field Value
Language English
Edition Not known
Purpose To define boundaries of wetlands designated under the Ramsar Convention in NSW.
Frequency of change As needed
Keywords BOUNDARIES-Administrative,ECOLOGY-Habitat,ECOLOGY-Landscape,HERITAGE-Natural,LAND-Use,VEGETATION,WATER-Lakes,WATER-Surface,WATER-Wetlands,NVR
Metadata Date 2012-04-01
Date of Asset Creation 2012-04-01
Date of Asset Publication 2012-04-01
Date of Next Update 2012-04-01
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0
Equivalent Scale 5000
Vector representation
Record 1
Object type
Object count
Geospatial Topic Inland waters

Dataset extent

Temporal Coverage From 2012-04-01
Datum GDA94 Geographic (Lat\Long)
Legal Disclaimer Read
Attribution Department of Planning and Environment asserts the right to be attributed as author of the original material in the following manner: "© State Government of NSW and Department of Planning and Environment 2012"