Koala corridors in south-west Sydney

Map of koala movement corridors and priority restoration areas in a study area in south-western Sydney. Koala movement corridors are classified as primary, secondary and tertiary according to the level of connectivity of core koala habitat which are critical for the long-term viability of the regional koala population in the study area. Koala corridor categories also consider corridor dimensions such as minimum widths. Koala corridors are likely to extend outside of the study area. They are named, largely by geographic area or river/creek catchment. The mapping, along with key koala conservation principles, form the basis of advice by the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment related to the conservation of the regional koala population extending from Holsworthy and Moorebank, through Campbelltown and Wollondilly, to Wingecarribee. For further information on the data layer and its development, please see Conserving koalas in Wollondilly and Campbelltown Local Government Areas. Also available for download from Data and resources below.

Data and Resources

  • Data Quality StatementPDF

    Data quality statement for Koala corridors in south-west Sydney

  • Download PackageZIP

    Data (Shapefile, Corridors and Indicative Study Area)

Metadata Summary What is metadata?

Field Value
Data Type Vector
Metadata Date 20/02/2019
Date Created 20/02/2019
Date Revised 10/10/2019
Edition 2.0
Purpose Conservation planning
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0
Update Frequency Data is updated as deemed necessary
Keywords ECOLOGY-Habitat,FAUNA-Native,ECOLOGY-Landscape

Dataset extent

Equivalent Scale 25000
Geospatial Topic Environment
Language English
NSW Place Name Wollondilly, Campbelltown, Wingecarribee
Temporal Coverage From 26/02/2016 - 26/02/2019
Datum GDA94 Geographic (Lat\Long)
Landing page
Legal Disclaimer Read
Attribution Department of Planning, Industry and Environment asserts the right to be attributed as author of the original material in the following manner: "© State Government of NSW and Department of Planning, Industry and Environment 2019"