Integrated Forestry Operations Approvals (IFOAs)

The Integrated Forestry Operations Approvals (IFOA) dataset contains the boundaries of the 7 IFOA regions which apply across NSW. The regions include the Upper North East, Lower North East, Southern, Eden, Brigalow – Nandewar, South Western Cypress and Riverina Red Gum.

IFOAs integrate the regulatory regimes for environmental planning and assessment, protection of the environment and threatened species conservation. IFOAs incorporate licence conditions that protect soil, water and threatened species and their habitats. They also play a key role in the day-to-day planning and activities of the Forestry Corporation of NSW (FCNSW).

The terms and conditions under which all forestry operations (including logging) may occur in each region are set out in IFOAs and apply to anyone carrying out forestry operations on state forest and other Crown-timber land.

The Environment Protection Authority regulates FCNSW compliance with the non-licence terms, the environment protection licence and the threatened species licence components of the IFOAs, and the Department of Primary Industries – Fisheries regulates FCNSW compliance with the fisheries licence. Further information on IFOAs is available on the EPA website at

Data and Resources

Metadata Summary What is metadata?

Field Value
Language English
Alternative Title IFOA
Edition v1
Purpose Environmental planning and assessment, protection of the environment and threatened species conservation
Frequency of change Not planned
Keywords BOUNDARIES-Administrative
Metadata Date 2011-11-10
Date of Asset Creation 1999-01-01
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0
Equivalent Scale 25000
Vector representation
Record 1
Object type
Object count
Geospatial Topic Environment
NSW Place Name NSW

Dataset extent

Temporal Coverage From 1999-11-08 - 2011-11-08
Datum GDA94 Geographic (Lat\Long)
Legal Disclaimer Read
Attribution Environment Protection Authority (EPA) asserts the right to be attributed as author of the original material in the following manner: "© State Government of NSW and Environment Protection Authority (EPA) 2024"