NSW Forest Agreements

The NSW forest agreement regions dataset contains the boundaries of the four current NSW forest agreements which cover the eastern areas of NSW. The regions include the Upper North East, Lower North East, Eden and Southern.

NSW forest agreements provide a framework for long-term decisions on forest use and management. They were formed from consultation and consensus established between the NSW Government and major forest stakeholders.

Forest agreements impart certainty for industry, conservation and the community. They deliver on the NSW Government's forest policy to:

• protect environmental values in a world-class system of national parks and other reserves

• encourage the creation of forest industries that are strong, competitive and ecologically sustainable

• manage native forests in an ecologically sustainable way.

The agreements are for 20 years and progress on their implementation is reported annually. Further information on each NSW forest agreement is available on the EPA website at

Data and Resources

Metadata Summary What is metadata?

Field Value
Language English
Edition v1
Purpose The NSW forest agreement regions dataset defines the geographic boundaries of the Upper North East, Lower North East, Eden and Southern forest agreement regions.
Frequency of change Not planned
Keywords BOUNDARIES-Administrative
Metadata Date 2011-10-11
Date of Asset Creation 1999-01-01
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0
Equivalent Scale 25000
Vector representation
Record 1
Object type
Object count
Geospatial Topic Environment
NSW Place Name NSW

Dataset extent

Temporal Coverage From 1999-08-11 - 2011-08-11
Datum GDA94 Geographic (Lat\Long)
Legal Disclaimer Read
Attribution Environment Protection Authority (EPA) asserts the right to be attributed as author of the original material in the following manner: "© State Government of NSW and Environment Protection Authority (EPA) 2024"