NPWS Branches

The National Parks and Wildlife Service Operation Branches is a polygon layer that includes the eight administration branches that were announced 16 December 2016 - North Coast, Northern Inland, Hunter Central Coast, Greater Sydney, Blue Mountains, South Coast, Southern Ranges and West Branches. The boundaries encompass the NPWS estate and heritage sites that are managed by each of the 4 -5 Areas within the Branch. NPWS staff that work in each administration Branch report to a Director.

The boundaries came into effect 16 December 2016 but have been adjusted slightly over the months following. They were finalised October 2017.

Data and Resources

  • Data Quality StatementPDF

    DQS - NPWS Branches

  • NPWS BranchesZIP

    Download Data Package

Metadata Summary What is metadata?

Field Value
Data Type Vector
Alternative Title NPWS Operation Branch Boundaries
Metadata Date 18/07/2017
Date Created 01/11/2014
Date Revised 20/10/2017
Date Published 09/09/2016
Edition 20/10/2017
Purpose NPWS Branches are administration boundaries displaying the land area that specifically includes the NPWS Estate that is managed by each of the 8 Branches. The layer is used for maps, analysis and reports.
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0
Update Frequency There are no plans to update the data
Keywords Administration,Branches,Park Management

Dataset extent

Equivalent Scale 25000
Geospatial Topic Environment
Language English
NSW Place Name NSW
Temporal Coverage From 09/09/2016
Datum GDA94 Geographic (Lat\Long)
Landing page
Legal Disclaimer Read
Attribution Department of Planning, Industry and Environment asserts the right to be attributed as author of the original material in the following manner: "© State Government of NSW and Department of Planning, Industry and Environment 2016"