NPWS Areas

The National Parks and Wildlife Service Park Operation Areas is a polygon layer that includes the 37 Areas that were finalised in October 2017. They will officially be adopted in December 2017. The boundaries denote the NPWS estate and heritage sites that are managed locally by each Area. NPWS staff that work in various work locations in each of the 37 Areas report to an Area Manager who in turn reports to a Branch Director. There are eight administration branches for the State.

Data and Resources

  • Data Quality StatementPDF

    DQS - NPWS Areas

  • NPWS AreasZIP

    Download Data Package

Metadata Summary What is metadata?

Field Value
Data Type Vector
Alternative Title NPWS Operation Area Boundaries
Metadata Date 18/07/2017
Date Created 01/11/2014
Date Revised 20/11/2017
Date Published 11/08/2017
Edition 20/10/2017
Purpose NPWS Areas are administration boundaries displaying the land area that falls within each Branch and that specifically includes the NPWS Estate that is managed by each of the 37 Areas. The layer is used for administration maps, analysis and reports.
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0
Update Frequency There are no plans to update the data
Keywords Administration,Park Management

Dataset extent

Equivalent Scale 25000
Geospatial Topic Environment
Language English
NSW Place Name NSW
Temporal Coverage From 18/07/2017
Datum GDA94 Geographic (Lat\Long)
Landing page
Legal Disclaimer Read
Attribution Department of Planning, Industry and Environment asserts the right to be attributed as author of the original material in the following manner: "© State Government of NSW and Department of Planning, Industry and Environment 2017"